On the Road by Jack Kerouac

On The RoadIt’s the first book I read from the beat generation and since I ended up reading a fair bit from those guys it probably deserves a place on this list for that alone. Admittedly the fragmentary style of the later Burrough’s may have made me less stressed about the negotiating a coherent life narrative, but I can’t let one subculture take up too much space. Besides among other things On The Road helped intensify my travelling bug for a few years as well as somewhat informing the attitude I try to adopt while travelling – getting to know and “digging” various characters… I guess doing that will stop you from forming overly linear and calcified identity anyway.

Have your two cents...

